Posted by: cck | February 18, 2013

teething

Today, I recognized why people complain about their children teething. OMgee.

Poor K had her at the office today. When he called me on Facetime at 2pm – with a wildly sobbing baby – my heart broke. Up until this point, C3’s three teeth arrived with little fanfare. If you knew our daughter, you could tell she was uncomfortable and not quite herself. If you didn’t know our child, you wouldn’t even recognize she was fussy. </brag>

Oh boy. I made teething cookies (food processor: an egg, about a cup of whole wheat flour, a banana, a tablespoon of oil, a tablespoon of vanilla soy milk, a tablespoon of vanilla, a tablespoon of ground flax, and a bunch of baby oatmeal whirled in the food processor until it becomes a ball – maybe a little more milk or flour depending on how you measured; cooked for about 10 minutes at 350). They were surprisingly easy – I used Weelicious as a jumping off point. I purchased Hyland tablets because those seemed like the right choice. Using anbesol or something scares me because of the choking risks.

She gummed a frozen banana. She tore into her cookies. She let the tablets dissolve under her tongue. And she cried because her teeth hurt. No matter how many times I told her she wouldn’t remember this particular pain, she didn’t believe me. And now? My teeth are hurting – throbbing, actually. And where do they hurt? Exactly where I think hers are pushing up. Gah, that doesn’t even make sense.

Any tips or tricks you’ve got? Send ’em my way.

Responses

  1. Motrin infant drops always worked better for E than tylenol. Hyland’s are good…but if it’s really bad, go with the pain reliever. And just be warned molars turn them into total turds. 2 year old molars (which came closer to 3) sucked.

  2. Exactly what Beth said. Robbie’s getting molars now already and it is KILLER.


Leave a Reply

Categories

