Posted by: cck | December 12, 2012

on pink

When I first realized I was having a girl – that there was femaleness growing inside of me – I panicked.  Girls are tough.  I have no doubt that I will also say “boys are tough” somewhere down the line if I am so blessed, but I don’t have a boy – I have a girl.  There’s pink.  Lots of pink.  And while I feel we’ve done a not bad job on keeping the princess shit away from our home (although, dude: Halloween.  My bad.), I cannot keep pink from creeping in.  And why should I?  Would I avoid dressing a boy in blue just because omigawd that’s so gender stereotype?

I’m trying to raise a girl who can do anything – who can change a tire, bake a cake, sing, dance, give a kick ass presentation, write, build, love… No small task.  I want her to be comfortable and confident in her skin.  As a woman, that means being in touch her version of femininity – whatever that may turn out to be.

Most of her toys are gender-neutral: blocks, Little People, animals.  Her only doll is a Kirk plushie from ThinkGeek.  Her Christmas presents – from us – are all raucous toy-related: a ball pit, a water mat, trains.  K wanted to get legos, but they’re a wee bit small for our girl.  I found Mega Blocks – which I think will fit both the big kid’s and the little kid’s desires.  Here’s my challenge: pink or primary?  There are two options for starter-sets.  The girl set is actually a few bucks cheaper than the other.  My first thought is to purchase the primary color set.  It follows along with how I’ve been purchasing toys – gender-neutral.

MegaBlocks 2 PinkBlocks 2

What am I telling my daughter by eschewing the pink – that being pink isn’t okay?  Am I challenging a gender role because I want her to be raised without its confines?  Later, if I have a boy, will it send the wrong message by not encouraging play with all colors – that pink blocks are somehow bad?  Ugh, when does gender development really happen?  Like many things in this parenting journey, I know I’m over-thinking this.  I will continue to dress her in pink when I want, and also in red, blue, green, yellow (but not orange – never orange).  Pink is not the enemy.  Thinking only pink is where things get dicey.  Which one would you buy?

Responses

  1. You daughter will be one lucky girl. She will be ready for anything. Best gift there is. “I’m trying to raise a girl who can do anything – who can change a tire, bake a cake, sing, dance, give a kick ass presentation, write, build, love… No small task. I want her to be comfortable and confident in her skin. As a woman, that means being in touch her version of femininity – whatever that may turn out to be.” Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  2. Primary color blocks could be useful when she is learning colors. I like gender neutral items in general because they can be used with future children whether boy or girl.


Leave a Reply

Categories

