Posted by: cck | October 17, 2012

blur

I looked up this morning and realized it’s Wednesday. How did an entire week go by? Oh yes…

-one-
I have an umbilical hernia. Oh, the joys of pregnancy! I have a horrible stomach ache. After a CT Scan and a visit with a surgeon, I have a note for no more crunches: brisk walking only! His advice, if it hurts, don’t do it. I’m pretty sure Gillian Michaels would disagree with him, but in order not to cringe when I pick up my daughter I’m going to go with his advice. Yeah for it only being a hernia and not something horrible! I’m delaying surgery at this time – something about complications with future pregnancies. I’m not pregnant yet, but since it IS the plan that I would be sometime next year, I’ve decided to watch and wait. And stop the crunches – that’s why Spanx was invented. True story.

-two-
Miss Ma’am has been waking up in the night and then again around 6:45 AM. When I was griping about her sleeping till eight in the morning? I take it ALL BACK. I think it’s a growth spurt as she has devoured everything in her sight the last two days. I’m hoping it’s not some sort of new sleep schedule. We’re working on getting her away from my side of the bed – sniffle – and into the pack-n-play. The goal is to have her sleeping in her crib, all by her lonesome, by Thanksgiving. Step by step, people, step by step. She didn’t like sleeping flat, so we’ve rigged up a wedge under the pack-n-play mattress. She’ll nap there, but isn’t crazy about doing a whole night yet. Sigh. Give me patience and the ability to be consistent.

-three-
Baby food. Have I mentioned about the baby food extravaganza up in the LP Household? Baby girl likes avocado, apples, pears, peaches, sweet potato, zucchini, and butternut squash. Tonight we’re introducing bananas. I made peas, but honestly, I hate peas so much I can’t stand to feed them to her. We’re running low on stock, so I’ve planned a week of baby food making to replenish the supply. I just made blueberry sauce, but next up will be spinach, parsnip, yellow squash, and carrots (along with her favorites of zucchini, sweet potato, peaches, and pears). If I devote a week to making two kinds of baby food a night, I have enough for a month. (I make applesauce every week – it’s a staple.) It’s not a bad system, just takes some planning on my part. I roast/steam/boil and then whirl a few times in my mini food processor. Then, I scoop the puree into a silicone ice cube tray (1 oz) and freeze overnight. In the morning, I pop them out and put each jewel-colored cube in a marked baggie (food type, date, notes). Most nights before bed I put a few cubes into a little bowl to defrost in the fridge – and voila! We’re mostly ready for the next day.

-four-
We’ve got a family wedding quickly approaching! K’s sister is tying the knot in a few weeks. Although C3 isn’t in the wedding (grumble, grumble, grumble), K and I are and there’s lots to be done. I’m hosting a shower next weekend, and while I have a plan – not one thing has been completed. Oh well, it’ll all come together right? She’s sort of a meh person in general, so I don’t think her expectations are too high. Of course, that hasn’t stopped me from planning up the wazoo. Have you seen the brie pop tarts from Joy the Baker? Oh yes, that’s happening. And I should probably practice bake them this weekend. K is going to adore me!

-five-
Halloween! C3’s costume is almost done. She’ll be dressing up as Princess Leia – which is exactly what her father wanted. Sigh. I had dreams of a cute little candy corn, but this is cute too. Meanwhile, she has an adorable – squee – candy corn dress for church on Sunday. If I can’t win the Halloween jackpot, at least I can buy something off etsy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

