Posted by: cck | May 22, 2012

one small centimeter

I am only one centimeter dilated.  My cervix must be on vacation or else she’s totally dialing it in.  My favorite fetus is at -3 station, and while head down, is no where close to getting into true position for labor.  I’m hovering at 70% effaced for the third week in a row.  Also, did I mention – only one centimeter dilated?

As a classic overachiever, I’m disappointed.  How could I not be?  I was hoping for at least three centimeters at today’s visit.  Instead, I got one.  One is better than none, I suppose.

We’re all a ball of nerves up in here, and I’m sick to tears of people asking me if I’m going to have the baby today.  Nope, probably not.  She’ll come when she’s ready.  Still two weeks till my due date, folks!  She’s happy freeloading at the moment – healthy, happy, moving around.  Next week we’ll have another growth ultrasound to determine if she’s back up to chunker size, but I don’t think she will be.  Fortunately, the doctors won’t let me go too much past my due date, on account of the high blood pressure that’s hovering around 118/70.  (High blood pressure, what?)  So I know we’re talking in the realm of two weeks.  TWO WEEKS is not that long.  Remember when I was waiting for my period to arrive and I was whining and whining for what seemed like eons?  This is nothing.

I’m ready for all the things – even the things I can only imagine – that will arrive soon.  I’m impatient.  But, I’m going to try to focus REALLY HARD on the fact that I have a few more days with my beloved – alone.  That I have a few more days where I can go to a store without nipple pads, a handtruck full of baby stuff, and y’know – the baby.  That I have a few more days of feeling her kick me from the inside.  I’m going to focus on knowing that this too will end, that I will not be pregnant forever, and it’s all going to be okay.

At least it sounds damn good when I type it out here.

ps.  Saw her face today in the ultrasound.  She’s cute.  SQUEE.  Ohmygoodness, is my baby cute.

Responses

  1. Hang in there! Remember, most first babies come after their “due date” and that sweet baby and your body will know when it’s time. She just needs a little longer to be ready to be outside of you. Definitely the one time for you not to be an overachiever. 🙂 Muuuch better for her to come on her own than induce, unless your BP gets too high but 118/70 is good!

    Also, the nursery is gorgeous. Saw the photos on the FB (thanks for hunting me down, BTW). Love, love, love.

  2. Thanks, Beth! I wish I could be more patient… My SIL is coming this weekend to look for her wedding dress – so at least I have a pleasant excursion to look forward to (one that isn’t baby-related in any way!). And thanks for the nursery love — I’m sure I’ll still tinker a bit here and there, but I’m really happy with the way it turned out.

    Did you find blue almonds? I had a thought – what about Garden Ridge?


Leave a Reply

Categories

