Posted by: cck | April 25, 2012

love: a series, part 2

One of the things I can’t wait for my daughter to experience is the friendship of other women.

I hope she’ll have good friends – the ones that will lead her into just enough trouble, the ones that will open her eyes to things she doesn’t know, the ones that will challenge her, and the ones that will make her laugh.

Tonight, I had dinner with an old friend – and despite not seeing her for almost a year, it felt like I had seen her last week.  I want her to have friends like that.  And it’s not only about having female friends – I hope she has great, close friendships with guys too.  But there’s something about a friendship – woman to woman.

When I lived in Tallahassee, I had a close group of friends.  We met often and called it “detox.”  I miss it acutely.  I miss the camaraderie, the understanding, the love that we shared.  We all still talk – and there’s Facebook – but I miss sitting across from them with a cold martini.  (Okay, I also really miss the martini).

I want my daughter to have friendships that span decades.  I want her to be a good friend – a strong friend.  I can’t wait to meet her friends, to see her grow with their shared experiences.  I can’t wait to see how my friendships grow and change as we all enter motherhood.

Leave a Reply

Categories

