Posted by: cck | March 9, 2012

my partner

Y’all, I am so blessed to have K as my partner.  This is going to be full of mush…  just thought I’d warn you ahead of time.

In the past few weeks, I’ve had several occasions to recognize his strength, perseverance, and drive.  This whole baby thing has changed our dynamic.  It’s the evolution of our life together, and it is good.  The other night, we were driving home from our prenatal care class (best class yet, btw) and we realized we haven’t had a fight this entire year.  Yeah – not one.  Whoa.  Who are we?

It’s not just the way he came home from work and unloaded the dishwasher without being asked or prodded.  It’s not just about his quiet strength that assures me that everything is going to be okay, that I’m safe.  It’s not just the way he gets up every night for my 97th glass of water.  Okay, it’s a little bit about how he gets up every night for the gazillionth glass of water.  We’re so in step with this whole thing.  He’s supportive, comforting, encouraging.

Starting our family was an endeavor that started long before we conceived.  He jumped through hoops, went to doctor appointments, made love to a cup more than once, popped handfuls of vitamins – all in this crazy quest to start our family.  Through all of it, he was a beacon of strength – not only with his own stuff, but being this totally dependable rock for me.  In our short life together – almost six years – I’ve been the rock more often.  I used to be worried that he could handle all of this.

It was a leap of faith for me – not a leap without a net or anything, but a leap that we were totally ready for this madness.  K is handling all of it with aplomb.  He’s keeping tabs on his own stuff – making his meetings, working hard to provide.  I know it’s not easy, but he makes it look easy.  I never want to take what he does for granted.  I am so lucky that he works so hard for this family.

He’s absolutely the perfect match for me.  He’s absolutely who I want as a father for my daughter.  Both of us are pretty lucky that he’s our man.

Leave a Reply

Categories

