Posted by: cck | January 2, 2012

gettin’ crafty

Sometimes, on a good day, I consider myself pretty crafty.  I’m not necessarily good at execution, but I’m not too bad at ideas.

Now that I get to decorate a nursery – a whole room in my house and I can use flowers, and paisley, and all the weirdness that K usually vetoes in the rest of the house (and I usually let him – we live here together, we both get to cohabit without fabric distractions) – I am letting my crafty flag fly.  It is so much fun.

I got a sewing machine for Christmas (an awesome sewing machine), and I thought I’d be able to jump right in.  I remember some sewing lessons from my father, there are a gazillion youtube videos, and countless informative blogs that I follow.  Um, jumping in didn’t quite happen.  I’m not that good.  I fussed with some fabric samples (ahem, fussed means cursing at a lot).

After giving up on perfection, I started my first project – a small baby blanket.  Whoa.  The cuteness of minky.  I die, seriously – it’s almost as cute as the little baby hangers I melted over last week.  Anyway, the whole blanket thing sort of worked.  It’s a nice big rectangle – and by big, we’re talking 45″ x 35″ or so.  Next I’m going to go back over the edges with a fancy stitch of some kind.

Even George likes it.  (George is our persnickety pup.  He’s super special.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

