Posted by: cck | October 27, 2011

happiness

I met K at a wedding – in fact, it was the day before at the wedding rehearsal.  He was my groomsman; I was his bridesmaid.  Later in the evening, after far too much wine at dinner, we walked up to a pasta bowl to impart some lasting wisdom for the happy couple.  K wrote, “Live long and prosper.”  I wrote something about happiness, but in my inebriated state, wrote “hapiness.”  The ha-penis joke followed me for the rest of the weekend.

My search for happiness continues.  Last night, a book I’d been waiting for finally became available from the library (color me thrifty).  I started reading The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun without being completely sure what it was about.  The idea intrigued me…  happiness as a task, as a research project, as an endeavor.

Each month, Gretchen Rubin tackles things that stand in between her and happiness.  Energy, marriage, family, friendships… her list is long and complete.  If you had to boil down the things that stand between you and being happy, the items that actually make you happy…  I imagine the categories would be smaller than you first imagine.

I’m very happy, but I wouldn’t mind knowing what actually makes me happy.  Several years ago, a therapist asked me the same question.  While I can point to things that have made me happy, I’m not sure that I could sit down and write out a list.  I feel like I owe it to my life to be able to pinpoint what makes me really happy.

Can I do this without feeling like a self-centered jerk?  Let’s hope so…

Leave a Reply

Categories

