Posted by: cck | May 25, 2011

grace in small things v2

This is harder than I thought.  I’m trying to focus on the things I’m feeling… grateful for.  What happened today that was serendipitous and full of grace?  My gut response is to say, “Nothing.”  But that’s not quite true.  I’m grateful that my psychiatrist communicates via email.  I’m grateful that I have an email address and a job that provides access to health insurance (which I wouldn’t be able to get all by myself).

But those are the big things – the gimmees.  I’m trying to think of something that happened today that made me stop the quiet implosions.

I ate lunch with a friend – stolen moments because we’re working up against a huge deadline.  It’s just there looming in front of us.  So, around 2:30 this afternoon, since neither of us had budged from our desks, we decided to run away for a quick bite (before anyone could drag us back down into a world of mail merges and incompetence).  We sat at the Chick-Fil-A across the street, and for almost twenty minutes I completely forgot about anything more important than squeezable ketchup.  It was delightful.

Leave a Reply

Categories

